7 successive Twenty20 International series wins for India: How it all started

first_imgIndia on Tuesday recorded their seventh straight series victory in Twenty20 Internationals after convincingly beating the West Indies in the second match of the series in Lucknow.India rode on skipper Rohit Sharma’s majestic fourth hundred to post a mammoth 195 for two. In reply, the Windies could only manage 124 for 9 from their 20 overs as India took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.The win also extended India’s unbeaten streak in T20I series to nine, a journey that had started against Sri Lanka in a one-off match last year.India’s winning run had started against New Zealand at home in 2017 right after the drawn series with Australia.Also read – Rohit Sharma glad to put a smile on fans’ faces with blockbuster hundred in LucknowIndia are currently second behind world No.1 Pakistan in terms of consecutive series victories. Pakistan recently recorded their 11th win when they beat New Zealand 3-0. In fact, Pakistan have not lost a series since the World Twenty20 in India in 2016.Since the World T20, India have lost only two series, both against West Indies in West Indies.Also read – Sunil Gavaskar, Sanjay Manjrekar escape unhurt after glass door of commentary box shattersHere’s a look at how India overpowered their oppositions in T20I series:India vs New Zealand: India win 2-1 in 3-match seriesThe series started with India’s 53-run win over Zealand in the first game in New Delhi. But New Zealand bounced back in Rajkot to win the contest by 40 runs. The series-decider was to be played at Thiruvananthapuram but rain threat loomed large. However, as soon as the rain stopped, the groundsmen cleared the field and match was shortened to 8-overs-a-side. India scored 67/5 and then restricted New Zealand to 61/6 to win the contest by 6 runs an take the series 2-1.advertisementIndia vs Sri Lanka: India win 3-0 in 3-match seriesIndia continued with their dominance over Sri Lanka in the short form of cricket too. The Rohit Sharma-led India thrashed Sri Lanka by 93 runs in the first game in Cuttack before the home side recorded a comfortable 88-run win after posting 260/5 thanks to Rohit Sharma’s 118. In the final match of the series on Christmas eve, India chased down Sri Lanka’s 136 to sweep the series 3-0. Rohit Sharma is the only batsman to score 4 centuries in T20Is (AP Photo)India in South Africa: India win 2-1 in 3-match seriesIndia’s dominant run in the shortest form continued even away from home when they beat South Africa 2-1. The visitors rode on Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s five-wicket haul to beat South Africa by 28 runs in the first T20. However, the hosts bounced back to win the second game by 6 wickets. With the series locked at 1-1 and Virat Kohli ruled out of the series finale with an injury, India showcased a collective team effort to win the third and final match by 6 runs and clinched the series.Nidahas Trophy in Sri Lanka: India win tri-seriesIndia started the tournament as the favourites but suffered a shock defeat in the first match against Sri Lanka. But after that there was no looking back for the Rohit Sharma-led side. The team not only won its remaining matches but also the trophy. India twice defeated Bangladesh and won against Sri Lanka in the league phase before edging past Bangladesh in the final. Dinesh Karthik (29 runs off eight balls) played a brilliant cameo towards the end to help India win by four wickets in the final.Chasing 167 for a win, Karthik came on to bat in the second last over with scoreboard reading 133/5. He announced his arrival at the crease through two sixes and a four in first three balls which narrowed the gap between remaining balls and required runs. The drama unfolded in the last over when India needed five runs in the last ball. Karthik slammed a flat six over extra cover to clinch the issue.India in Ireland: India win 2-0 in 2-match seriesIndia started their tour of the United Kingdom by easily defeating Ireland in the two-match series. Led by Virat Kohli, India eased past Ireland by 76 runs and 143 runs to sweep the series.India in England: India win 2-1 in 3-match seriesBeating England in their own backyard is no mean feat. India were off to a brilliant start as they rode on KL Rahul superb 101 not out to hammer England by 8 wickets in the series opener in Manchester. The hosts avenged their defeat by winning the next game by five wickets. In the series finale, India chased down 199 thanks to Rohit Sharma’s 100 not out.advertisement KL Rahul has scored two centuries in T20Is (Reuters Photo)India vs West Indies: India lead 2-0 in 3-match seriesIt has been India all the way so far in the series. India have produced an all-round show in the first two matches to register victories in Kolkata and Lucknow. On Tuesday, Rohit Sharma became the first batsman to smash four centuries. The third match of the series will be played in Chennai on Sunday.India will also play a three-match series in Australia later this month.last_img

Post A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *