The CRTC celebrates 150 years of Canadian communications

first_img Facebook Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement Login/Register With: LEAVE A REPLY Cancel replyLog in to leave a comment Quick FactsThe CRTC has named 16 rooms in honour of 23 men and women who helped shape the Canadian communications system.The CRTC has also named the Agora at its National Headquarters in honour of Pierre Juneau, the CRTC’s first Chairman.The selection of room names was made according to criteria such as posthumous recognition, ethnic diversity, geographic representation and temporality.A committee of five senior officials, including the Chairman of the CRTC, was mandated to evaluate the suggestions and information provided by CRTC employees.Quote“As part of Canada’s 150th Anniversary, the CRTC is proud to honour entrepreneurs, inventors, public figures and great communicators who, each in their own way, have transformed the Canadian communications sector.”– Jean-Pierre Blais, Chairman of the CRTC Twitter OTTAWA–GATINEAU, March 21, 2017 – Today, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) honoured exceptional Canadians who, through their achievements, values and ideals, have marked the development and visibility of Canadian communications over the past 150 years.As part of its commemoration project to celebrate Canada’s 150th Anniversary, the CRTC recognized 23 exceptional men and women for their contribution to the Canadian communications system, by giving their names to the Commission’s meeting rooms. These individuals are: Israel “Izzy” Asper, Henri Audet, John Bassett, Alexander Graham Bell, Nancy Devine (former CRTC employee), Reginald Fessenden, Barbara Frum, Harold Greenberg, Matthew Halton, Foster Hewitt, Judith Jasmin, Jonah Kelly, Jose Kusugak, René Lecavalier, John Lombardi, Marcel Masse, J-Alphonse Ouimet, Marcel Ouimet, Ted Rogers, Jean-Louis Roux, Jeanne Sauvé, Graham Spry, and Réal Therrien.At the same time, the Agora at the CRTC’s National Headquarters was named in honour of Pierre Juneau, the CRTC’s first Chairman and a prominent figure in the areas of Canadian communications and culture.last_img

Post A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *